Low involvement of coronavirus in the Caribbean

Very few cases have been reported and there are generally no restrictions on the arrival of foreign.

The eight countries that make up the SICA region (Central America and the Dominican Republic) are implementing the main recommendations of the World Health Organization (WHO) to stop the spread of the coronavirus, while decreeing various measures on how to contain it. The following is an update on the situation in each country and the main measures taken with respect to international travelers, according to information provided by the respective Ministries of Health.

Belize will prohibit the entry into its territory of all travellers who have been to China in the last 14 days. 
  • Guatemala continues to receive international travelers and works in coordination to prevent outbreaks of COVID-19 in its territory. 
  • In El Salvador, no suspected or confirmed cases of coronavirus are reported. However, the Government has strengthened preventive measures at land and air borders.
  • For the time being, entry to the territory is restricted to visitors from Spain, China, South Korea, Italy, Iran, France and Germany. This restriction includes persons who have been in transit through these countries. People coming from CA-4 countries (Guatemala, El Salvador, Nicaragua and Honduras) may only enter with a valid passport.
  • Honduras, the country has no recorded cases of coronavirus. There are no restrictions on the arrival of foreign visitors. 
  • Nicaragua has ruled out the possibility of establishing quarantines in the country in view of the global rise in cases of COVID-19. Asymptomatic persons from countries that have registered cases of Coronavirus will be able to move freely through the country.